Certify Individuals

Four Level Certification system and process
Pre Olof Sandberg


IPMA certification
Four Level Certification system and process

While IPMA manages the 4-L-C system, the Certification Bodies of our Member Associations perform the actual assessments and certification. The certification process involves several steps for the assessment of a candidate. The assessment steps for individuals are applied to each of the IPMA competence levels A, B C, and D.  If the Candidate meets the Competence Requirements  he can apply directly to the desired Level. It’s not necessary a lower Certificate Level  to apply to an higher Certificate Level. The IPMA certification system is not completely rigid: Each Member Association adapts some factors and requirements to their local needs.In some cases, Member Associations add more roles to certain levels; this most-often happens with IPMA Level A and IPMA Level B. The table below, from November 2010, shows an update of the Four Level Certification system and process. The chart below is from the IPMA Competence Baseline (IPMA ICB®), published in 2006. It shows the steps of the IPMA certification process in a different perspective from the chart above. Some process steps are required, marked with an x, while others are optional, marked with an (x). Each Member Association’s certification body uses this process as a starting point, in applying IPMA certification to their nation. More details about the IPMA’s advanced, competence-based certification process, especially those steps that are specific to a particular level, appear on the pages of this section. Use the page links at above left to view the certification level of your choice.