About Certification

Moving PM Competence Forward

 Project Management Certification
Project Management Certification

The IPMA four level certification program is world leading and professionally demanding.

By the end of 2015 there were approximately 250,000 IPMA certificants worldwide; nearly 75,000 of them are Advanced Competence-based, professionally-assessed certifications in IPMA’s 4-L-C, Four-Level Certification system.

These include IPMA Level A (Certified Projects Director), IPMA Level B (Certified Senior Project Manager) or IPMA Level C (Certified Project Manager). These certificates are noteworthy, as the demand from executives, strategic leaders, managers and stakeholders for individuals with demonstrated Project, Programme and Portfolio Management competence spreads globally.

The remaining 65% of our certified individuals are IPMA Level D (Certified Project Management Associate). This designation is similar to the exam-oriented, knowledge-based certifications of other major Project Management associations. In the IPMA approach, this certification is the best first step towards a professional project or programme manager role demonstrating the individuals ability to understand the basics of project management.

For those who are curious about how IPMA’s certifications compare to other global approaches, see this introduction to a unique article, Comparing PM Certifications, here at the IPMA website.

Our role-based suite of professional certifications in the IPMA’s 4-L-C, Four-Level Certification system are exclusively available through our IPMA Member Associations. We also offer other certifications that we describe below, with more details from the links at the left,

Highlighting Certification Solutions

Understanding Competence: Today, more than ever, everyone is demanding improved results from their project, programme, and portfolio initiatives. And others are now beginning to understand the importance of broad competences, that include behavioral and contextual areas. IPMA helps a range of practitioner roles to explore essential knowledge foundations, then expand beyond knowledge, to achieve PM competence, and project results.

Certify Individuals: PM competence and certification have become key driving forces for individuals. The IPMA Four-Level-Certification system (4-L-C) addresses this need by providing a consistent process for the assessment and recognition of PM competence. In this section of our website, you can also verify the certification level and currency of individuals using our Search Certified PMs feature.

Certify PM Consultants: Understanding the importance of competent PM consultants, IPMA Member Associations offer an assessment of the competences required. PM consultants contribute to positioning and strengthening the ability of organisations to initiate, plan, execute and evaluate projects, programmes and portfolios. IPMA’s certifications for PM Consultants provide global recognition of PM consultancy competence.

Certify Organisations: Organisations certify your individuals to help them achieve their personal aspirations and to assure delivery of needed business results. To complement this, IPMA Delta helps you evaluate your organisational project and programme maturity and performance. IPMA Delta is an organizational project maturity assessment and certification, identifying actions needed to achieve better business results.

Certification Success Stories: Are your certified Project and Programme Managers part of your success story? Of your competitive advantage? They should be. IPMA Member Associations certify professionals in their end-to-end competence in their actual roles. Read the testimonials of this enthusiastic group, who have benefited from the certifications offered by IPMA’s member nations.

Does your organisation demonstrate the PM Competence Difference? Do you?